Sandy Brown Jazz

 

 

 

Live Jazz Venues in the UK

 

 

Here is a list of some of the venues hosting live jazz in the UK. If you would like me to include links to other venues, please let me know with their website addresses. If you find that any of the links below do not work, then please let me know that too.

During the Coronavirus pandemic activities at the clubs were disrupted and some were closed. We are gradually trying to update this list.

 

For Traditional Jazz gigs around the UK in particular The Jazz Guide website is a comprehensive source of information - click here.

 

Dublin: Sugar Club, 8, Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2. www.thesugarclub.com

Dublin: National Concert Hall, Dublin 2. www.nch.ie

Dublin: Whelan's, Wexford Street, Dublin 2. www.whelanslive.com.

Wicklow: The Hot Spot Music Club, Harbour Lodge, Bayswater Terrace, Cliff Rd, Greystones, Co. Wicklow. www.thehotspot.ie

 

Scotland: The Blue Lamp, Aberdeen, 121 Gallowgate, Aberdeen, AB25 1BU. www.jazzatthebluelamp.com

Scotland: The Jazz Bar, Edinburgh, 1a, Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HR. www.thejazzbar.co.uk

 

Wales: Swansea Jazzland, The Garage @Whitez, 47 Uplands Crescent, Swansea SA2 0NP. www.swanseajazzland.co.uk

 

Newcastle-upon-Tyne: The Jazz Cafe, 25 - 27 Pink Lane, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE1 5DW. www.jazzcafe-newcastle.co.uk

Cumbria: Kendal Jazz Club, The River Bar, Hawkshead Brewery, Stavely Mill Yard, Back Lane, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 9LR. www.kendaljazzclub.co.uk.

Lancashire: Ribble Valley Jazz and Blues Club, The Grand Theatre, 18 York St. Clitheroe, Lancashire, BB7 2DL. www.rvjazzandblues.co.uk

Liverpool: The Capstone Theatre, Shaw Street, Liverpool, L6 1HP. www.thecapstonetheatre.com

Yorkshire: Seven Jazz, Leeds, Seven Arts, Chapel Allerton, Leeds, or Inkwell Arts, 31 Potternewton Lane Chapel Allerton, Leeds. www.sevenjazz.co.uk
(Includes: Seven Jazz Improvisation Group, Seven Jazz instrumental workshops and Seven Jazz Voices Choir).

Yorkshire: The Domino Club, Leeds, 7 Grand Arcade, Leeds, LS1 6PG. www.thedomino.co.uk

Yorkshire: Wakefield Jazz, Wakefield (College Grove) Sports Club, Eastmoor Road, Wakefield, WF1 3RR. www.wakefieldjazz.org

Yorkshire: Jazz In The Spa, Boston Spa, Village Hall, High Street, Boston Spa. www.jazzinthespa.co.uk

South Yorkshire: Sheffield Jazz, Various venues in Sheffield. www.sheffieldjazz.org.uk

Manchester: Matt and Phred's, 64 Tib Street, Northern Quarter, Manchester M4 1LW. www.mattandphreds.com

East Staffordshire: Burton Jazz Club, Marston’s Sports and Social Club, Shobnall Rd, Burton-on-Trent DE14 2BG. www.burtonjazz.org

East Staffordshire: Jazz On Tap, The Worthington Room, The National Brewery Centre, Horninglow Street, Burton upon Trent, DE14 1NG www.jazzontap.wordpress.com

Birmingham: Birmingham Jazz Listings www.jazzinbirmingham.co.uk

Hertfordshire: Herts Jazz Club, Welwyn Garden City, Screen2, Hawthorne Theatre, The Campus, Welwyn Garden City, AL8 6BX. www.hertsjazz.co.uk

Hertfordshire: The Holly Bush, Redbourn, Hertfordshire, AL3 7DU. The Redbourn Traditional Jazz Band, www.hollybushredbourn.co.uk

Essex: The Electric Palace, Harwich, King's Quay. Harwich. www.electricpalace.com

Essex: North Weald, North Weald Village Hall, CM16 6BU Essex. www.northwealdvillagehall.org
Third Saturday of every month - 12.30 pm to 3.00 pm. Jack Free's All Star Band with Jack Free (trombone), Peter Rudeforth (trumpet), John Crocker (clarinet), Tim Huskisson (piano), Murray Salmon (bass), Martin Guy (drums).

Buckinghamshire: Amersham Jazz Club, Beaconsfield SYCOB FC HP9 2SE. www.amershamjazzclub.co.uk

Oxford: Oxford Jazz Kitchen, Rose and Crown, 14 North Parade Avenue, Oxford OX2 6LX and The White Hart, Wolvercote, OX2 8PQ. www.oxfordjazzkitchen.com

Oxfordshire: Witney Jazz, Burwell Hall, Thorney Leys, Witney OX28 5NP. www.witneyjazz.co.uk

Oxfordshire: Eynsham, Swan Hotel, 21 Acre End Street, Eynsham, OX29 4PE. www.swaneynsham.net
First Monday of each month, 8.00 to 10.30 pm, Free entry - The Alvin Roy Quartet.

 

Jazz London Live

 

Jazz London Live has become the key reference place for who is playing where in the London area - click here, and you can download their app to your phone etc. from a page on their website.

London: Jazz London Live, Listings website for London and South East. www.jazzinlondon.live

 

 

London: King's Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG. www.kingsplace.co.uk

London: LUME, www.lumemusic.co.uk

London: Pizza Express, Soho, 10, Dean Street, London W1. www.pizzaexpresslive.com

London: The Spice Of Life, Soho, 6, Moor Street, London W1. www.spicejazz.co.uk

London: Ronnie Scott's Club, Soho, 47 Frith Street, London W1. www.ronniescotts.co.uk  

London: Boulevard Theatre, 6, Walker's Court, Soho, London W1F 0BT. www.boulevardtheatre.co.uk

London: The 100 Club, 100 Oxford Street, London W1D 1LL. www.the100club.co.uk (The 100 Club only occasionally stages jazz gigs these days)

London: The Green Note, Camden, 106 Parkway, Camden, London NW1 7AN. www.greennote.co.uk

London: Chickenshed Theatre Jazz Bar, Southgate, Chase Side, Southgate, London N14 4PE. www.chickenshed.org.uk

London: The Vortex, 11, Gillett Street, N16 8AZ. www.vortexjazz.co.uk

London: Club Inégales, 180 North Gower Street (corner of Euston Street). www.clubinegales.com

London: Southampton Arms, Highgate Road, North London
Wednesdays, 8.00 - 10.00 pm: Dave Burman (piano) and Dave Eastham (alto / clarinet)

London: Jazz In The Round, The Cockpit, Marylebone, Gateforth Street, Marylebone, London NW8 8EH. www.thecockpit.org.uk

London: Tattershall Castle, Victoria Embankment, Whitehall, London, London, SW1A 2HR. www.thetattershallcastle.co.uk
The Brian Rutland Band. Last Friday in the month.

London: Omnibus, Old Clapham Library, 1 Clapham Common Northside, London, SW4 0QW. www.omnibus-clapham.org

London: 606 Club, 90 Lots Road, Chelsea, London SW10 0QD. www.606club.co.uk

London: The Bull's Head, Barnes, 373 Lonsdale Road, Barnes, London, SW13 9PY. www.thebullshead.com

London: Putney, The Half Moon, Putney , 93 Lower Richmond Road, Putney, SW15 1EU. www.halfmoon.co.uk
Dick Laurie's Elastic Band. The band now usually plays on the first Sunday of each month.

London: Piano Smithfield, 14, Long Lane, Barbican, London EC1A 9PN. www.thepianogroup.com

London: The Hideaway, Streatham, 25 Streatham High Rd, London SW16 6EN. www.hideawaylive.co.uk

London: e17 Jazz, Walthamstow, Gnome House, 7 Blackhorse Lane, Walthamstow, E17 6DS. www.facebook.com/e17jazz

London: East Side Jazz Club, Leytonstone Ex-Servicemen's Club, 2 Harvey Road, Leytonstone, London, E11 3DB eastsidejazzclub.blogspot.com/

London: The Jazz Nursery, St Mary Overies Dock, Cathedral Street, London SE1. www.jazznursery.com

 


Surrey: Thames Ditton, The George and Dragon, High Street, Thames Ditton, KT7 0RY.
Every Tuesday - Alan Berry (piano), Mike Durrell (bass), Don Cook (drums) plus weekly guests - 8.30 pm

Surrey: Croydon, The Clocktower Cafe, 9 Katherine Street, Croydon, CR9 1ET www.croydon.gov.uk/leisure/arts/clocktowercafe
Jazz gigs on a Thursday between 12.15 - 2.15pm

Surrey: Guildford Jazz, 2 venues - Guildford and Godalming Rugby Club, Guildford Road, Godalming GU7 3DH (second Wednesday in month); Guildford Electric Theatre, Onslow Street. Guildford GU1 4SZ (Tuesday nights). www.guildfordjazz.wordpress.com

Surrey: Watermill Jazz, Dorking, Betchworth Park Golf Club, Reigate Road, Dorking RH4 1NZ. www.watermilljazz.co.uk

Surrey: The Grey Horse, Kingston-Upon-Thames, 46 Richmond Road, Kingston-Upon-Thames, KT2 5EE. www.grey-horse.co.uk

Surrey: Off The Rails, Richmond, One Kew Road, Richmond, TW9 2NQ. www.offtherailsclub.com

Surrey: The Barley Mow, Shepperton, 67 Watersplash Road, Shepperton, TW17 0EE. thebarleymowshepperton.co.uk

Kent: The Roffen, New Road Rochester, ME1 1DX. www.144club.co.uk

West Sussex: West Chilt Jazz Club, West Chiltington Village Hall, (just north of Storrington), Mill Rd., West Chiltington RH20 2PZ. Meets every first Tuesday of the month with live traditional jazz bands. 7.00pm to 10.00pm. email contact: click here.

Sussex: Splash Point Jazz Club, Seaford, Splash Point Jazz Club Seaford at The View, Seaford Head Golf Club, Southdown Road, Seaford. www.splashpointmusic.com

Sussex: Brighton Jazz Club, www.brightonjazzclub.co.uk

Sussex: Brighton, Emerald Bar, 23 The Waterfront, Brighton, BN2 5WA Shane Hill and Magdalena Reising every Saturday 8.00 pm. Blue Cafe Duo

Sussex: 1066 Jazz Club, St Leonards, Azur at the Marina Pavilion, St Leonards-on-Sea, East Sussex, TN38 0BU, www.1066jazzclub.co.uk.

Sussex: Splash Point Jazz Club, Brighton Marina, Splash Point Jazz Club at The Master Mariner, Inner Lagoon, Brighton Marina. www.splashpointmusic.com

Sussex: Chichester Jazz Club, Pallant Suite, 7 South Pallant, Chichester, PO19 1SY. www.chichesterjazzclub.co.uk

Sussex: Worthing Jazz Society, Hare & Hounds, 79-81 Portland Road, Worthing, BN11 1QG. www.hareandhoundsworthing.co.uk/LIVEJAZZ

Sussex: Worthing, Pavilion Theatre Cafe Bar, Pavilion Theatre, Worthing, West Sussex, BN11 3PX. www.worthingtheatres.co.uk

Hampshire: Fleet Jazz Club, The Harlington Centre, 236 Fleet Rd, Fleet GU51 4BY (every 3rd Tuesday each month - except August).
 www.fleetjazz.wordpress.com & facebook.com/FleetJazzClub

 

Gloucestershire: Cirencester, Kings Head Hotel, 24 Market Place, Cirencester GL7 2NR. www.kingshead-hotel.co.uk

Bath: Underwood Restaurant, 16 Argyle Street. Bath, BA2 4BQ. www.underwoodbath.com
Mel Henry's Jazz Times Three. Tuesday 7.30 to 10.00 pm

Bristol: The Be-Bop Club, The Bear, Hotwell Road, Bristol, BS8 4SF. www.thebebopclub.co.uk

Bristol: Future Inns, Cabot Circus, Bond St S, Bristol BS1 3EN. www.futureinns.co.uk/bristol/jazz-at-future-inns

Somerset: Frome, The Corner House. 1 Christchurch St E, Frome BA11 1QA. www.thecornerhousefrome.co.uk

Somerset: Ilminster Arts Centre, The Meeting House, East Street, Ilminster, Somerset, TA19 0AN. www.themeetinghouse.org,uk

Somerset: Wiviliscombe, Cotleigh Brewery, Ford Rd, Wiveliscombe, Taunton TA4 2RE, www.wiveylink.co.uk

Somerset: Minehead, The Regal Theatre Bar Jazz Club, 2nd Sunday of each month 3.00 pm - 5.30 pm, 10-16 The Avenue, Minehead, Somerset, TA24 5AY, www.regaltheatre.co.uk

Dorset: Blandford Forum, The King's Arms, Whitecliff Mill St, Blandford Forum DT11 7BE. Facebook

Dorset: Bridport Arts Centre, South Street, Bridport, DT6 3NR. www.bridport-arts.com

Dorset: Sound Cellar, Poole, The Blue Boar, 29 Market Close, Poole, Dorset, BH15 1NE, www.soundcellar.moonfruit.com

Devon and Cornwall: - JAZZ NORTH DEVON - listing of Jazz Clubs in North Devon and Cornwall: www.jazzdates.co.uk/devon.htm.

Devon: Ashburton Arts Centre, 15 West Street, Ashburton, Newton Abbott, TQ13 7DT, www.ashburtonarts.org.uk

Devon: South Molton Jazz Club, The George Hotel, 1 Broad Street, South Molton, Devon, EX36 3AB, www.southmoltonjazzclub.com

Devon: North Devon Jazz Club, The Beaver Inn, Irsha Street, Appledore, Devon, www.jazznorthdevon.com/north-devon-jazz-club.html

Devon: Teign Jazz & Blues Club, Teign Corinthian Yacht Club, Eastcliffe Walk, Teignmouth, TQ14 8TA www.teignmouthjazz.org

Cornwall: St. Ives Jazz Club, Western Hotel, Gabriel Street, St. Ives, Cornwall, TR26 2LU. www.stivesjazzclub.com

Cornwall: Bude Jazz Club, The Falcon Hotel, Breakwater Rd, Bude EX23 8SD www.budejazz.co.uk .

Visit us on Facebook Facebook logo

Other pages you might find of interest :

Tracks Unwrapped
Tea Break
Video Juke Box
Jazz As Art

© Sandy Brown Jazz 2019

Click HERE to join our mailing list